Skip to main navigation.

Our Power Supply

South Texas Electric Cooperative was formed in 1944 to provide wholesale electric power to member cooperatives. Presently the South Texas Electric Cooperative serves eight distribution cooperatives; Karnes, Wharton County, Victoria, Jackson, San Patricio, Nueces, Magic Valley and Medina electric cooperatives. These cooperatives provide service to over 170,000 members in 65 South Texas counties.

The cooperative’s headquarters are located in Nursery Texas, at the Sam Rayburn generating plant. One hundred and sixty employees are based at the Sam Rayburn plant while another twenty-two are based at the Pearsall generation facility.

STEC’s power is generated utilizing a variety of fuels, including lignite, natural gas, diesel, wind and hydro. These resources include the San Miguel Electric Cooperative lignite generation plant located in Christine Texas; the Sam Rayburn facility which is a combination of resources including dual-fuel, combined-cycle generation; and the Pearsall facility, a gas-fired unit located in Pearsall Texas. Renewable resources include the output of the Amistad-Falcon hydro project and output from Iberdrola Renewable's Penascal 1 and 2 wind projects.

South Texas Electric Cooperative’s Mission Statement:
South Texas Electric Cooperative’s mission is to provide the infrastructure and services to deliver reliable and economical electric power to a diversified membership.

Click here to visit STEC's Website

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Together We Save